top of page
  • Writer's pictureVaughn Solcher

Week One


Ciao Mieli! My first week in Tuscany. What a busy and eventful week of settling in. After almost 21 long hours of traveling from Houston to Castiglion Fiorentino, we finally arrived in our new home. Right off the bat, everything started moving fast.


First, you should know that I am a Nutritional Sciences major taking 12 hours of Communication classes during this semester abroad. This past Monday we started classes; a whole new adventure of academics for me. I have a wonderful and wise teacher and a lively group of students accompanying me on this experience. During this first half of the semester, we are taking the classes: Rhetoric of Humor and Intercultural Communication. Already, I have learned so much.


Among my new group of traveling friends are my roommates, Lainey and Sydney. Almost instantly our friendship was established. I feel very blessed to have a small group of traveling companions that complements each other so well. Sydney, our designated fun mom, keeps us all in-check and organized in a light and healthy way. Lainey, the artsy one, seeks out the hidden beauty in the most unexpected places. Among my favorite qualities is their special talent to make me laugh so hard I begin to cry with a single look. We are quite the annoying trio.


Every Wednesday there is a planned field trip to a nearby Italian city. This week our first stop was Arezzo, a 10 minute train ride from Castiglion Fiorentino. To describe the beauty and atmosphere of this little city is difficult to put into justifying words. The day encompassed making our way through an antiques market and observing the significant spots throughout the town. With the afternoon to ourselves, we discovered a quaint little deli for a late lunch. This little day trip was concluded with a successful unchaperoned train ride back home.


What a full first week. I am still overwhelmed by the constant beauty that surrounds me, but filled with gratitude for the opportunity to be here. I cannot wait for what is to come, stay tuned!


Dal Moro, Arezzo

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page